top of page
  • Writer's pictureFran Cleland

Interschool showjumpers converge on Mount Macedon

ABOVE: Alice Darby and Moon Day. Picture: DEREK O’LEARY

BRAEMAR College’s interschool showjumping day attracted 120 keen youngsters, riding 360 rounds.

It was the third event of the Equestrian Victoria interschool series, with competitors travelling to Mount Macedon from as far away as Cobram, Albury and Sale.

These days do so much for the sport and their organisation is a monumental effort by a very small band of people, who keep the cogs turning planning and running the events.

Linda Nailon was the course builder and John Pearce and Emilie Van Sonsbeek gave their time as judges.

Zara Adnams from Toorak College won the advanced championship riding Tallyho Primrose and the reserve with Dingmac Disco King.

Toorak College fields a strong jumping group and the third placegetter, Alice Lawrence, is also a Toorak girl.

ABOVE: Jack Eastley and Special ED. Picture: DEREK O’LEARY

Tayla Anderson on Casino nights from Elizabeth Murdoch College was intermediate level champion with Geelong Grammar’s Ingrid McElvaney on Oaks Kestrel reserve.

Clara Greenwood riding the pony Tapu Heir Apparent for Salesian College Rupertswood was progressive champion and Xanthe Wade on another great pony, Lakevale Tarwyn, was reserve for Gippsland Grammar.

Chloe Wolsley and Kapeta Fantasy from Woodlands Primary School were the stars of the improvers group, with the reserve sash going to Camille Mason on Stormin Norman from Salesian College Rupertswood.

The encourage winners were Olivia Anderton on Glenmore Wyn from Edinburgh College and Lara Fairchild riding Ash from Damascus College.

In the Freshmans section, Alannah Heagney and ZP Homeless Henry from Kardinia International College were champions with Ivy Williams and Creswell Montana from Rivercrest Christian College reserve.

Alice Darby riding Moon Day and representing Ivanhoe Grammar School won the stars grand prix followed by William Tucker on Tamleugh Red from Salesian College Rupertswood in second place. The order was reversed in the stars A2.

Toorak College won the Teams Trophy.

ABOVE: Mia Shortt and Cavalli Park Quintabell. Picture: DEREK O’LEARY

Stories on The Regional’s website are free to read and always will be.

If you enjoyed this article you can show your support by joining our mailing list (either by filling out the form below or sending us a message).

We'd also get very excited if you put a "like" on our Facebook page.


Commenting has been turned off.
bottom of page