top of page
  • Writer's pictureFran Cleland

After 15 years, interschools showjumping still going strong

ABOVE: The 2023 winning team from Toorak College. Picture: ONE-EYED FROG

THE Interschools Show Jumping series was started in Victoria in 2008 to promote the sport in the school community over courses designed by professionals at safe, purpose-built venues.

In 2023, the series celebrated its 15th year with more than 200 schools represented at the three shows.

The series runs over three rounds and after the finals at Boneo Park, Toorak College were declared team series champions for the year from Chairo Christian College and Haileybury third.

There are seven levels in groups ranging from “stars”, which are usually made up of young riders already competing successfully in open competition, down to freshmans, where those starting out are popping happily over diminutive fences.

The popularity of showjumping as a sport shows in the middle groups of intermediate and improvers where there are an amazing number of youngsters who have scored points over the three-event series.

ABOVE: Caitlyn Duncan from Mullauna College riding Soap Opera. Picture: ONE-EYED FROG

Individually, Molly Lawrence riding Carabel P was consistent in all three rounds of the stars section to take the series championship with Tanner Richardson and Bringmoore in reserve.

Toorak filled all three top series placings in the advanced section where Zara Adnams was first and second with her two mounts, Tally-ho Primrose and Dingmac Disco King, with Lucy Coventry’s Gangitano Zee in third position.

In the intermediate group, Haileybury’s Pearl Hudson rode Red Rue to take the series win, with Claudia Grant from Loreto Mandeville Hall on Buckwell Park Archer the reserve in a huge group where more than 60 riders scored points.

Olivia Curtain from Newhaven College was series champion in the progressive section riding Indi's Mr Zorba Jones and Eltham College’s Abigail Zammit’s Imperial Rose was reserve.

The improvers series champion was Hannah Lionet riding Maple for Padua College in a close finish with Edinburgh College’s Lachlan Harvey on Patangas Hiccup.

Caitlyn Duncan riding Soap Opera from Mullauna College won the encourage title with Chairo Christian’s Macey Ram taking the reserve with Ap Akkamui.

Finally, in the freshmans section, the winner was Frankie Murphy riding Ziggy for Mount Eliza Primary.

ABOVE: Holly Grant of Ivanhoe Grammar. Picture: ONE-EYED FROG
ABOVE: Darby Beadel from Chairo Christian College. Picture: ONE-EYED FROG

Stories on The Regional’s website are free to read and always will be.

If you enjoyed this article you can show your support by joining our mailing list (either by filling out the form below or sending us a message).

We'd also get very excited if you put a "like" on our Facebook page.


Commenting has been turned off.
bottom of page